Give, Gave … A Poem

giving-to-others

A Poem by JTR Franklin

Give, Gave,

Gave until there was nothing left to save. I give till it hurt. I gave to one until there was nothing left but dirt.

I once gave a shit, but I never gave a damn. I always give ‘um hell, I even gave the finger to the man.

Give a hoot to not pollute. But corporations do it, so I guess their pollution is moot.

I asked a someone once to give a little to some who need it? He said I gave at the office; and to the church, so give me a break and beat it.

Give it your all, some gave all. Give yourself away, get ready to fall.

Give my time to work, gave my youth away. Give my soul to heaven, will give my body to the grave.

Give, Gave …

 

Leave a Reply

